HELP with designing an inventory space limiter (Minecraft 1.15.2)

Panda Masala's Avatar Panda Masala2/24/22 10:22 pm history
1 emeralds 377 4
3/15/2022 7:45 pm
Panda Masala's Avatar Panda Masala
Hi,

I've been trying to work on a commandblock system (though a datapack could work as well but I'm new to those) that limits a player's inventory slots, but upon obtaining certain items more inventory slots would be unlocked.

My current set-up involves:

Use a non-stackable item (saddle), give them a custom tag, use a command sub-setup that makes players unable to throw items with the custom tag.

This does work- but I was wondering, could anyone help me make it so:
  • The player may not move the saddles to different slots
  • The player can't transfer the saddles to chests or e-chests
I've tried tinkering around with the /replaceitem command, and while this does achieve the slot-locking effect, it comes with some dangerous downsides:
  • When players click on the saddles to change the slot value, the slot updates back to saddle but the saddle the player has clicked on still remains in the player's selection. This allows saddle duping and things get messy from there.
  • When a player has an item already clicked, and then attempts to replace a saddle with another item, that item then gets deleted. I'm making an adventure map with key items that shouldn't ever be deleted.
Anyone have any ideas?
Panda Masala
Level 34 : Artisan Bear

Create an account or sign in to comment.

sigstop
03/09/2022 5:39 pm
Level 2 : Apprentice Miner
Surely you know that you can check if your item is in slot X, by using @a[​nbt={Inventory:[{Slot:Xb,tag:{these_custom_tags_that_you_have:1b}}]}]?
Why don't then clear player from item that would be missing from its slot? (as most probably player would just picked it up/clicked it)
/clear command works (or at least worked) also on items that were held under your cursor, so by using it you can largely reduce dupping.