Why is art so much hated?

RenegadeRad's Avatar RenegadeRad10/16/15 2:11 am
10/20/2015 12:49 pm
CroatiaTheMan's Avatar CroatiaTheMan
Hey there guys,

Today I would like to discuss something serious, as I am at the point of choosing my career, A discussion with some of the family members made me angry.

I am actually thinking of going into IT or Journalism, but when I asked others about art, because I am a hobbyist they all said one thing - "Art is for failures"

Now, the question is why? Art is actually one of the things which has been there since the beginning of humanity, and even maths, science are a type of art.

Why parents think that one should only choose Maths, Science and do engineering? Why does every parent want this? Not everyone can go on top : /

What are your thoughts?
RenegadeRad
Level 18 : Journeyman Explorer

Create an account or sign in to comment.

CroatiaTheMan
10/20/2015 12:49 pm
Level 60 : High Grandmaster Meme
I think like Irish said that you need to sell enough art to make a living so I'd say you should put art like a side subject to study
Irish
10/20/2015 12:45 pm
Level 72 : Legendary Nerd
Art is a very hard subject to get established in. You need to be able to produce/sell enough art to make a living, plus getting good at some art types takes a while, such as drawing anatomy.
NetworkPCE
10/20/2015 9:38 am
Level 21 : Expert Engineer
Not for failures at all, though it's quite a difficult career however. Painting obviously is very difficult to get any type of famous in (to make enough money for a living). Knowing some artists myself i would not recommend it as a career if you want a large paycheck, this might change depending on how it goes but yeah. But i can guess it's a very rewarding career, and also kind of a brave move going rather for the thing you love than for what has the fattest paycheck.